I Can’t Believe It’s Vegan

My latest loaf of banana bread. Yum!

Banana bread, brownies, pumpkin pie, sweet potato biscuits, apple muffins, and more. Yes, vegans can still bake their cake and eat it, too! But, how is this? No eggs, no butter, no milk, no shortening, and I go a step further than you have to and say no vegetable oil. Never underestimate the power of puree. Mashed bananas, pumpkin puree, sweet potato puree, apple sauce, you name it, I’ll bake with it. These sweet, sticky, moist ingredients replace your eggs and oil and make your baked goods super moist and tasty. Here are a couple of suggestions for bakers of all talent levels:

Easy Pumpkin Brownies
Pumpkin puree is the binding ingredient here, but don’t worry, your brownies won’t taste like a gourd! The pumpkin gives them a natural sweetness and fudgey, gooey texture.  I served these at a Super Bowl party to carnivorous junk food junkies and they LOVED them. Even better, they are as easy as opening a box, opening a can, and well, that’s it! 

1 package of vegan brownie mix (I use Namaste Foods brand, it’s also organic and gluten-free. One bag makes 2 big batches)

1/2 cup of pumpkin puree

1/4 cup of water

(Depending on the thickness and volume of your mix, add more pumpkin and/or water to achieve cake batter consistency)

-Follow baking instructions on your mix, check at stated time by poking with a tooth pick, I find I usually  have to add 5 minutes to cook the pumpkin fully.

Banana Bread from the Post Punk Kitchen

Thanks to Isa for her amazing vegan cookbooks and great site Post Punk Kitchen at theppk.com. I will not repost her material here, but I will advise you to go get the recipe and make it. This one takes some baking savvy. You do have to hand mix your ingredients and mash your own bananas. I will say that I am not a master baker and I didn’t screw this one up. So, you can do it! http://www.theppk.com/2007/10/banana-bread/

Leave a Reply

